Sevilla await Europa draw

Sevilla will find out today who their opponents are in the third qualifying round draw of the Europa League held today.

The Andalucians, who won the competition in 2005 and 2006, are named in the seeded half of Group 3’s pot for Friday’s draw to be held at 1pm CET, 12 noon UK time.

Unai Emery’s side, who have just touched down in Chile for the first leg of their preseason South American tour, can be drawn against any of the unseeded sides in their pot.

These are: Tromso IL (NOR) or FC Inter Baki (AZE), FK Kukesi (ALB) or FK Sarajevo (BIH), HNK Hajduk Split (CRO) or FK Turnovo (MKD), Motherwell FC (SCO), FC Levadia Tallinn (EST) or CS Pandurii Lignitul Targu Jiu (ROU), FK Mladost Podgorica (MNE) or FK Senica (SVK).

The two-legged fixtures will be played on August 1 and August 8, with winners then entering August 9’s draw for the play-off round.

Sevilla are in the draw having finished ninth in the Primera Division last season, benefiting from Malaga’s confirmed and Rayo Vallecano’s all-but-confirmed bans from European competition for 2013-14.

The Anchovies are banned as punishment for holding debts going into last year’s Champions League, whilst Rayo are awaiting a final appeal to the Court of Arbitration for Sport for having been refused a UEFA licence for being in administration and holding debt.