LFP insists La Liga will start on time

The Spanish Football League (LFP) has insisted La Liga will start on time despite some clubs threatening strike action.

Reports in Spain have suggested that 13 clubs could delay the planned start of the League season on the weekend of August 18-19, due to what they see as the unfair distribution of television money and the row surrounding the proposed kick-off times for the first three rounds of fixtures.

The so-called rebels – Getafe, Real Betis, Osasuna, Celta Vigo, Espanyol, Real Zaragoza, Atletico Madrid, Athletic Bilbao, Real Sociedad, Granada, Rayo Vallecano, Real Mallorca and Sevilla – say they will take ‘any action deemed necessary’ if they do not get what they see as ‘an acceptable solution’.

However, the LFP insists it has been in contact with the majority of Primera and Segunda clubs and maintains La Liga will get off on time.

“The great majority have shown it is their firm decision the competition will start according to the official calendar and there is no reason to alter it,” read an official LFP statement.

The 13 clubs are now set for an urgent meeting on Tuesday, August 14 to decide upon their next plan of action.



Tags LFP Spanish League