Copa del Rey opening round draw

The draw for the first and second rounds of the Copa del Rey has been made and has thrown up some interesting encounters.

Sporting Gijon-Girona, Villarreal-Ponferradina and Lugo-Racing Santander are the pick of the second round ties and feature teams relegated from La Primera last season.

Seven teams have been declared exempt from the first round: Real Balompedica Linense, Real Jaen, Melilla, Huracan Valencia, Tenerife and Lleida.

In the second round teams from La Segunda enter the competition with the exceptions of Barcelona B and Real Madrid B, who are both ineligible.

All ties in the first two rounds will be settled over a single game and are to be played on August 29 and September 12, with the draw for the third round taking place on September 14.

The full draw:

First Round


1 Caudal Deportivo – Marino

2 CD Ourense – Real Avila

3 Real Oviedo – CF Fuenlabrada

4 LogronesLogrones

5 NojaAmorebieta

6 LaudioEibar

7 Ejea – Pena Sport

8 L'HospitaletOrihuela

9 AlcoyanoAtletico Baleares

10 ConstanciaYeclano

11 PratGimnastic deTarragona

12 LlagosteraBadalona

13 Cadiz – San Roque de Lepe

14 Polideportivo Arroyo – La Roda

15 Albacete BalompieLoja

16 VillarrobledoCacereno

17 Atletico Sanluqueno – Cartagena

18 CatarrojaAlaves

Exempt: Real Balompedica Linense, Real Jaen, Melilla,

Huracan Valencia, Lucena, Tenerife and Lleida


Second Round


Almeria – Real Murcia

Sporting GijonGirona

Huesca – Guadalajara

Lugo – Racing Santander

Sabadell – Hercules

Villarreal – Ponferradina

MirandesRecreativo de Huelva

Cordoba – Elche

Xerez – Las Palmas


Lucena – Winner match 4

Winner match 10 – Winner match 2

Winner match 8 – Winner match 5

Winner match 18 – Winner match 17

Lleida Esportiu – Winner match 6

Winner match 12 – Winner match 7

Winner match 3 – Winner match 11

Huracan Valencia – Winner match 15

Winner match 9 – Tenerife

Real Jaen – Winner match 1

Winner match 13 – Winner match 14

Real Balompedica LinenseMelilla

Exempt: Winner match 16 between Villarrobledo and Cacereno