Sevilla Football Club was established in 1905 but had to wait until 1909 to play its first official game and until 1913 to move into its first proper ground.

Although the club won two Copas del Rey in the 1930s, when it also gained a reputation for enjoying certain privileges during the Spanish Civil War, it had to wait until 1946 to win its first and only La Liga title.

Another Cup success followed two years later but Los Nervionenses did not win their next major trophy until the next century, capturing the UEFA Cup in both 2006 and 2007 under Juande Ramos’ stewardship. This was followed by two Copa del Reys, in 2007 and 2010, the 2007 Spanish Supercopa and the 2007 UEFA Super Cup.

The Andalusians have had some notable players over the years, including Diego Simeone, Davor Suker and Bebeto, yet perhaps the most famous to have graced the Sanchez Pizjuan is Diego Maradona, who was signed from Napoli in 1992. However, the Argentine lasted just one season before returning to South America after several incidences of indiscipline.

Football Italia website