Mallorca was formed in 1916 by a republican engineer, Adolfo Vazquez, as Junta Directiva del Alfonso XIII FBC after the reigning king, and shortly afterwards obtained the adjective ‘Real’ by the monarch’s express wish. The club became Real Sociedad Alfonso XIII shortly afterwards and lasted until 1931, when it changed to Club Deportivo Mallorca for political reasons, but in 1949 the ‘Real’ prefix was allowed to be used again after the club was granted royal patronage.

In 1960 the Islanders achieved promotion to La Primera for the first time and went on to appear in the top flight a further four times until 1975, but it was not until 1991 that they achieved any real success. Under the guidance of Llorenc Serra Ferrer, Mallorca reached the Copa del Rey final but went down 1-0 to Atletico Madrid after extra-time. Between 1999 and 2001 they twice finished third in La Liga, reached the Cup Winners’ Cup Final and moved into the San Moix stadium. In 2003 they eventually managed to win the Cup, beating Recreativo de Huelva 3-0 with goals from Samuel Eto’o and Walter Pandiani.

In May 2010 it was announced Mallorca had applied to the courts to enter voluntary administration and the club was bought one month later by a consortium led by former boss Serra Ferrer.

Football Italia website