Founded in 1900 by an engineering student at Barcelona University, Espanyol was originally known as Sociedad Espanola de Futbol before changing its name one year later to Club Espanol de Futbol, the first Spanish club to be formed exclusively by fans.

In 1906 it folded due to financial reasons, most of the players joining the X Sporting Club that went on to win the Campionat de Catalunya three times between 1906 and 1908, but in 1909 it was relaunched as Club Deportivo Espanol.

After several small name changes, the club became Real Club Deportivo Espanyol in 1912, when King Alfonso XIII bestowed the “royal” title upon the club. The club subsequently became a founder member of La Liga in 1928, winning the Copa del Rey for the first time the following year, defeating Real Madrid.

Following the abdication of Alfonso XIII in 1931 the more Catalan/Republican friendly name Club Esportiu Espanyol was adopted, but after the Spanish Civil War the name reverted to Real Club Deportivo Espanol, the Catalan spelling eventually re-adopted in 1995.

Forever in the shadow of their more illustrious neighbours in Barcelona, Espanyol have spent 78 seasons in La Liga, the longest top-flight tenure of any club without actually winning the title.

Espanyol have won the Copa del Rey four times and reached the UEFA Cup final in 1988 and 2007, losing out to Bayer Leverkusen and Sevilla respectively.

Football Italia website