Barcelona was founded in 1899 by Joan Gamper and soon became the leading club in Catalunya, winning the Copa Macaya in 1902. However, despite landing the inaugural La Liga title in 1929 further success was hard to come by until the 1940s and 1950s, when a total of seven championships were captured, along with six Copas del Rey.

During the 1960s the club had financial difficulties and it was not until 1974 that they won La Liga again, although an 11-year wait for the next meant just one Primera success in 25 years. Johan Cruyff, who had played for Barca in the 1970s, returned as Coach in 1988 and four years later led the Catalans to a first European Cup success with victory over Sampdoria at Wembley.

Very few sides in the world have won so many titles outside their own country, with Barcelona landing four European Cup successes, four European Cup Winners’ Cups, three Fairs Cups (now the Europa League) and four UEFA Super Cups. Barcelona also has the distinction of being the only club to have appeared in European club competition every single year edition of since tournaments first began back in 1955.

The Blaugrana won 14 titles, including three La Ligas and two Champions Leagues, during Pep Guardiola's 2008-2012 reign. Success continued with another Primera title under Guardiola’s former assistant Tito Vilanova in 2012-13 but a barren season ensued with Argentine Gerardo ‘Tato’ Martino at the helm. Luis Enrique replaced Martino in 2014, winning a treble of La Liga, the Copa del Rey and the Champions League in his first season, Lucho retaining the League and Cup in 2015-16.

Football Italia website