NEWS
Saturday January 6 2018
‘Ref right to send off Costa’

Diego Simeone accepted the decision to send off Diego Costa during Atletico Madrid’s 2-0 win against Getafe. “If there’s a rule, it must be followed.”

Costa scored his second goal in as many appearances for Atleti on Saturday, but his appearance was cut short by a red card after he went into the stands to celebrate, resulting in a second yellow.

“Contact always exists and the referee reflected it in the best way,” the Coach said after the game.

“I’ll take all the good things Costa did. The referee is there to follow the rules, and he can’t take emotion into account. If there’s a rule, it must be followed.

“Still, his presence let us play more vertically. He transmits fear, it’s felt by everyone and that makes us happy.”

Football Italia website