Friday January 6 2017
La Liga dominates UEFA 2016 XI

Eight La Liga players were selected in the UEFA Team of the Year for 2016 with four Real Madrid players, three from Barcelona and Antoine Griezmann.

Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo, Barca's Lionel Messi and Atletico's Griezmann - who finished first, second and third in the Ballon d'Or awards for the year - were voted in alongside eight other European players on UEFA's website, with almost 7.2 million votes cast by a total of 650,000 fans.

Zinedine Zidane's side are the most in the list with Ronaldo joined by Sergio Ramos, Toni Kroos and Luka Modric, while Blaugrana duo Gerard Pique and Andres Iniesta are also included.

The remaining three players were Juventus duo Gianluigi Buffon and Leonardo Bonucci, along with Bayern Munich defender Jerome Boateng.

Ramos received the most votes, picking up over 488,000, while Ronaldo has been named in the side for a record 11th time. Team of the Year 2016: Gianlugi Buffon (Juventus), Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Geard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid).

See the latest La Liga predictions and betting tips with

Football Italia website