UEFA are considering altering the ‘double-touch penalty’ rule that led to Atletico Madrid’s elimination in the Champions League Round of 16. In an official statement, they explained the decision to disallow Julian Alvarez’s penalty against Real Madrid, while acknowledging that there was minimal contact with his left foot.
https://twitter.com/atletiuniverse/status/1900189436853329956
According to Marca, Atletico have spent all of Thursday morning requesting explanations from UEFA on the decision, asserting that there are no images which show the double touch clearly. Alvarez himself has told his family that he did not notice it at the time. Los Colchoneros have even considered legal action.
However UEFA have moved to clarify the matter, releasing both the images that decision was based on, as well as an explanation in an official statement, also carried by the Madrid-based outlet.
@UEFA have released the footage from Julian Alvarez's penalty upon which the double-touch decision was made.
In an official statement, they say they are considering a rule change. pic.twitter.com/kTJN6ByPdW
— Football España (@footballespana_) March 13, 2025
“Atletico Madrid enquired with UEFA over the incident, which led to the disallowance of the kick from the penalty mark taken by Julian Alvarez at the end of yesterday’s UEFA Champions League match against Real Madrid.”
“Although minimal, the player made contact with the ball using his standing foot before kicking it, as shown in the attached video clip. Under the current rule (Laws of the Game, Law 14.1), the VAR had to call the referee signalling that the goal should be disallowed.”

The European governing body did note that they would discuss with the refereeing body whether the rule should be altered to accommodate situations where the double contact is accidental.
“UEFA will enter discussions with FIFA and IFAB to determine whether the rule should be reviewed in cases where a double touch is clearly unintentional.”
This would appear to at least end the controversy over the decision, but will do little to ease the cruelty of Atletico’s elimination for their fans. Real Madrid, and in particular Thibaut Courtois showed little sympathy for them all the same.
Just let the player re-take the kick, if it’s unintentional.
Hmm
There is no “intent” in subjective rules of football Simple one.
Learn rules of football before embarrasing yourself.
How do they ascertain if it’s intentional or not?
Same way they did for handballs. If they can’t tell that the one causing all the controversy is unintentional then they shouldn’t be referees.
Even if atletico thought they were robbed, which is not, people are also forgetting what happened in the 20th minute when vini cross clearly stroke the hand of simeone and the VAR are not even interested in looking at, so as the reff. So i think what happened is pure karma and it pays no favourites
Is there any foul that is intentional? Maybe refs need to ask the players to know if fouls are intentional or unintentional