Sergio Ramos: Messi clash was an accident

Real Madrid skipper Sergio Ramos claims there was nothing significant about his clash with Barcelona'ss Lionel Messi during Saturday's El Clasico defeat.

Los Blancos lost 1-0 at the Santiago Bernabeu on Saturday night, just three days after losing 3-0 at home to the Catalan side in the Copa del Rey semi final second leg, and the experienced defender was clearly frustrated during the game.

The two captains clashed twice during the first half, however the main flash point came in added time at the end of the first half, when Ramos appeared to move his arm into Messi's face during an aerial challenge.

Messi was angered by the incident, however referee Alberto Mallenco chose not to penalise Ramos for the incident, and Ramos also played down the incident.

"These things happen in games.

"I did not mean to catch in him, however he has taken it very badly and stayed down.

"The referee made the decision and that is the end of it for me."

Tags Lionel Messi Sergio Ramos