Real Madrid’s Gareth Bale escapes ban for goal celebration

Real Madrid forward Gareth Bale has escaped punishment following a controversial goal celebration against Atletico Madrid, La Liga have confirmed.

The Welshman netted the third goal in Madrid’s 3-1 victory at the Wanda Metropolitano earlier this month and made an ‘inciteful gesture’ to the home fans during his celebration.

The alleged gesture in Spain is known as a ‘corte de mangas’ and Spanish football's Competition Committee were compelled to look into the incident.

The signal was not included in the referee’s match report with La Liga investigating the incident on their own initiative but ‘could not guarantee’ that it was made towards the home fans.

The investigation came at a time when tensions are high between La Liga chief Javier Tebas and Madrid supremo Florentino Perez over the use of VAR.

Tags Gareth Bale