Pique escapes celebration punishment

Gerard Pique will not face any punishment following his goal celebration against Espanyol on Sunday, the Spanish FA (RFEF) have confirmed.

The Spain international netted a late equaliser for the Blaugrana in the Catalan derby and went over to the home fans with a ‘shushing’ gesture, with the RFEF meeting to decide if action was appropriate.

La Liga president Javier Tebas had hinted earlier this week that a ban was possible due to the celebration’s provocative nature, but that a decision was not up to him.

The league had said in a statement: “goal celebrations which cause offence, and which are not reflected in the referee's report but can generate tension are totally rejected by the league and, from now on, will be forwarded to the RFEF's competition committee for the appropriate action to be taken.”

Espanyol had not reported the incident, but had complained about the defender calling them Espanyol from Cornella (the area in which their stadium is located) rather than Espanyol from Barcelona – their official title.

Tags Espanyol. Gerard Pique