Clasico quintet in L’Equipe XI

La Liga makes up almost half of L'Equipe's team of the year for 2014, with five Real Madrid and Barcelona players named in the XI.

Following Los Blancos' success in four of six trophies on offer this year, Sergio Ramos, Toni Kroos and Cristiano Ronaldo have been selected by the French publication, while former pair Angel Di Maria and Xabi Alonso have been rewarded for their contributions to the side's pursuit of La Decima last season.

Elsewhere, Lionel Messi and Neymar – despite Barca's failure to register any silverware over the past 12 months – feature either side of the Portuguese in a three-pronged attack.

L'Equipe team of the year in full: Manuel Neuer; Philipp Lahm, Sergio Ramos, Mats Hummels, David Alaba; Toni Kroos, Angel Di Maria, Xabi Alonso; Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar