Spain confirm WC squad numbers

Diego Costa will wear No.19 for Spain at the World Cup, the same shirt number he bears for Atletico Madrid.

Marca reports that David De Gea has inherited the No.12 usually worn by Victor Valdes, who misses the tournament through injury, while Cesar Azpilicueta takes over No.22 from Alvaro Arbeloa.

Costa is one of a number of players to wear their club number for La Roja, with Xabi Alonso also among them.

Spain squad numbers for the World Cup:

  1. Iker Casillas
  2. Raul Albiol
  3. Gerard Pique
  4. Javi Martinez
  5. Juanfran
  6. Andres Iniesta
  7. David Villa
  8. Xavi Hernandez
  9. Fernando Torres
  10. Cesc Fabregas
  11. Pedro Rodriguez
  12. David De Gea
  13. Juan Mata
  14. Xabi Alonso
  15. Sergio Ramos
  16. Sergio Busquets
  17. Koke
  18. Jordi Alba
  19. Diego Costa
  20. Santi Cazorla
  21. David Silva
  22. Cesar Azpilicueta
  23. Pepe Reina
Tags Spain World Cup 2014