The Spanish Football League [LFP] have this evening unveiled the nominees for their Players of the Season.

The governing body have announced three names for the best Goalkeeper, Defender, Central Midfield, Attacking Midfield and Striker of the 2012-13 season.

Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi will fight it out in the best striker category, with Manchester City’s Alvaro Negredo also named for his goalscorer exploits for Sevilla last term.

Fellow City signing Jesus Navas has also been included in the attacking midfield category alongside Andres Iniesta and Isco.

Thibaut Courtouis is the favourite for the goalkeeper award, with Victor Valdes and Malaga’s Willy also nominated.

Whilst Real Sociedad pair Inigo Martinez and Asier Illarramendi have been included in the defender and central midfield categories.

Goalkeepers: Thibaut Courtois [Atletico Madrid], Víctor Valdés [Barcelona], Willy Caballero [Malaga]

Defenders: Jordi Alba [Barcelona], Iñigo Martínez [Real Sociedad], Sergio Ramos [Real Madrid]

Central Midfield:  Asier Illarramendi [Real Sociedad], Beñat Etxebarria [Real Betis], Javi Fuego [Valencia]

Attacking Midfield: Andrés Iniesta [Barcelona], Isco Alarcón [Malaga], Jesús Navas [Sevilla]

Striker: Cristiano Ronaldo [Real Madrid], Lionel Messi [Barcelona], Alvaro Negredo [Sevilla].