Di Maria faces fine

Angel Di Maria’s comments that some refereeing mistakes that had gone against Real Madrid recently were ‘not an accident’ have been reported.

The Argentine winger said in the build-up to Madrid’s first leg quarter-final tie with Valencia in the Copa del Rey this week that the club had been the victim of poor officiating recently and that against Madrid, some of the errors were deliberate.

The Technical Committee of Referees has now decided to take action and has written to the Competition Committee to ask that they analyse the comments and take appropriate action.

Based on previous cases, the player is likely to receive a financial penalty, but no playing ban.

Tags Competition Committee Di Maria